Achtoon Baby cartoons

Achtoon Baby

New U2 album

New U2 Album Info

U2 Experience + Innocence Tour Dates

U2 E+I Tour 2018

"You can't fill a large stadium physically. You have to fill it with music."

-- Adam

@U2 home page

U2 Concert: Jul 18, 2015 at New York , NY

Tour: Innocence + Experience Tour 1st Leg (North America) 
Venue: Madison Square Garden 
Location: New YorkNY  United States 

See more concerts in the New York City area. 

Attendance: 18,742  (Capacity: 18,742)


Main Set
  1. The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)
  2. The Electric Co., Send In The Clowns (snippet), I Can See For Miles (snippet), On Broadway (snippet)
  3. Vertigo, God Save The Queen (snippet)
  4. I Will Follow
  5. Iris (Hold Me Close)
  6. Cedarwood Road
  7. Song For Someone
  8. Sunday Bloody Sunday, When Johnny Comes Marching Home (snippet)
  9. Raised By Wolves
  10. Until The End Of The World, Love And Peace Or Else (snippet)
Second Set
  1. Invisible
  2. Even Better Than The Real Thing
  3. Mysterious Ways, Burning Down The House (snippet), Young Americans (snippet)
  4. Elevation
  5. Ordinary Love
  6. October
  7. Every Breaking Wave Bono & Edge
  8. With Or Without You with Shine like stars, In The Garden (snippet)
  9. City Of Blinding Lights
  10. Bullet The Blue Sky, 19 (snippet)
  11. The Hands That Built America (snippet), Pride
  1. Beautiful Day, I Remember You (snippet)
  2. Mother And Child Reunion (snippet), Where The Streets Have No Name, Summer Rain (snippet), California (There Is No End To Love) (snippet)
  3. One, Invisible (snippet)
Releases Represented:
  1. Songs Of Innocence had 6 songs
  2. Achtung Baby had 4 songs
  3. The Joshua Tree had 3 songs
  4. All That You Can't Leave Behind had 2 songs
  5. How To Dismantle An Atomic Bomb had 2 songs
  6. Boy had 2 songs
  7. Non-Album Singles had 2 songs
  8. The Unforgettable Fire had 1 songs
  9. October had 1 songs
  10. War had 1 songs
Comments: U2 begins a run of eight shows in New York City over the next two weeks. Rumors abound in the afternoon that President Obama and/or Bruce Springsteen will be in attendance, but neither is there (as far as we know). We do know that Salman Rushdie, Jon Bon Jovi, Harry Belafonte, Christy Turlington, Spike Jonze, Mario Batali, New Jersey Governor Chris Christie and probably numerous other celebrities are at the show.

A new wrinkle as the show is about to start: With Patti Smith's "People Have The Power" playing over the PA, Bono is shown backstage on the video screen in the arena.

After "I Will Follow," Bono reminisces with the audience about U2's first visit to New York City: "Welcome to innocence and experience. When we first played a club called The Ritz in this great city, we thought of ourselves as a great punk band. We still do. A band of equals with an audience of equals."

Tonight's show uses the same "The Fly" intermission video that debuted at Boston #4 three nights ago.

Bono brings up a fan from Chile named Veronica during "Mysterious Ways." She's the co-founder of the fan site, and was also on stage with Bono in Dublin during the 360 tour.

Bono dedicates "Ordinary Love" to Nelson Mandela on what would've been his 97th birthday.

Adam and Larry leave the stage after "Ordinary Love," and the piano rises on the e-stage for what fans assume will be "Every Breaking Wave." But a shock: Bono and Edge play "October," it's first performance since November 11, 1989.

Before "One," Bono praises New York City for its strength in facing terrorism and refusing to live in fear from threats. He dedicates the song to Salman Rushdie (who knows something about living in the face of threats).

Tags: Shine like stars

11 Photos:


We have 3 reviews and 11 photos from this show.

Is one (or more) of the reviews below yours? If so, please register or login so you can claim it (and all the reviews you've already written). They'll be added to your fan profile page, where you can also list all of the U2 concerts you've seen and we'll show a list of all the songs you've heard U2 perform.

Filter by: 
Fan Reviews Media Reviews
  1. Fan Review by Liz Z
  2. Fan Review by Jay
  3. Fan Review by EricandJen